Faculty of Social Sciences, Chiang Mai University is one of the three faculties of Chiang Mai University that was established with Chiang Mai University in 1964, along with the Faculty of Humanities and the Faculty of Science. The Faculty of Social Sciences started its first day of teaching on June 18, 1964, with 75 students and 15 teachers. In the beginning of the establishment, Faculty of Social Sciences operated 5 departments, including the Department of Geography (The first Department of Geography in Thailand), Department of Sociology and Anthropology, Department of Economics, Department of Accounting and Business Administration and Department of Political Science. In 1964, the Faculty offered a bachelor's degree in 3 courses: Bachelor of Science in Geography, Bachelor of Economics in Economics and Bachelor of Science in Sociology and anthropology. Later in the year 2525, the Master's degree in Geography and Economics were opened and in the year 2544 the Faculty organized a doctoral degree program in Social Sciences.


The faculty reorganization took place when several departments had the potential to expand academic knowledge and manage new organizations, which could be established as a Faculty, including the Department of Business Administration and the Department of Economics in 1992. Department of Political Science in 2005 and  Law Program in 2006.


At present, Faculty of Social Sciences Chiang Mai University is one of Thailand’s top three academic institutions in social sciences. The Faculty has academic networks with leading universities around the world, and has internationally recognized social science expertise. The Faculty has open Thai and International courses at  3 levels; bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees reflecting its strengths including expertise of academic staff  and academic programs focusing on essential social issues that keep pace with changes in technology and modern society at the regional and global level, such as Sustainable Development, ASEAN Studies, and Geoinformatics  etc. In addition, the Faculty of Social Sciences develops and expands knowledge, provides academic services through major research and academic services centers, including the Regional Center for Social Science and Sustainable Development (RCSD), the Geo-Informatics and Space Technology Centre (Northern Region) (GISTNORTH), the Regional Center for Climate and Environmental Studies (RCCES), the Women's Studies Center (WSC), Center for Ethnic Studies and Development (CESD) and the China-Southeast Asian Studies Center (CSC). In addition, the Indian Studies Center. Chiang Mai University is located at the Faculty.

Faculty of Social Sciences, as a leading higher education institute in social sciences in the country, committed to the development of human resources and society according to 3 main missions: education management, research and academic services that can create social innovation for sustainable development at local, national and international level under the Faculty’s vision (2021-2024) : “Enhancing Knowledge through Sustainability  Social Development”  


Enhancing Knowledge through Sustainability Social Development


1. Provide higher education to educate students and produce graduates with academic excellence while instill  a sense of morality and social responsibility

2. Conduct research in social science fields to support  sustainable development of the society

3. Provide academic services to the local and national community



Excellence   Community   Engagement    Morality    Unity


1. Build and strengthen academic/community networking and internationalization

2. Cross-science integration and integration of teaching and learning management Research and academic services aiming to produce graduates with knowledge around Create research for sustainable social development

3. Transmit practical knowledge to enhance the livelihoods of the northern communities.

4. Develop a management system that strives for excellence.

Annual Report 2020

Annual Report 2019

Annual Report 2018

Annual Report 2016